Now I'm a believer

jockopablo

Mar 16, 2015
Visit site
Hi, all. I'm an IT professional with an affinity for new toys. After being curious about WP for a long time I finally took the plunge. I picked up a Lumia 830 from AT&T and so far I love it. I'm still learning my way around 8.1 but I don't miss my iPhone at all yet.

Aside from a couple of specific apps, the only thing I miss is the ability to disable screen lock in certain situations. I listen to Slacker Radio in the car with my phone connected to a charger, and I'd love to be able to keep the display up during the drive. It's not a huge deal, though.

The biggest problem I've had with my switch so far has nothing to do with Windows Phone. I discovered I was no longer receiving text messages from my contacts who have iPhones thanks to iMessage. I actually had to contact Apple to have them disassociate my cell number from my Apple account. Sigh.

I also have a Surface Pro 3, which is one of the best pieces of tech I've ever owned.

I look forward to meeting many of you throughout the forum.

Cheers!

Paul

askerrep

May 30, 2013
Visit site
Hey, and welcome!
If you go to settings > lock screen, and then choose the "screen times out after"- drop down menu, you can set it to never. That way your screen will stay on during your drive :) Sometimes apps also have the ability to prevent the lock screen from activating, which is then often found in their settings, but I don't know about slacker specifically. Drive safely!

jmshub

Apr 16, 2011
Visit site
Hello and welcome to the board. I'm glad that you have given Windows Phone a try and found it to be a positive experience.

RumoredNow

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Welcome.

That 830 looks nice to me... I'm still trying devices occasionally and that one is on my "to-do" list as a capable all-around phone.

Check out the forums and make yourself at home.

jockopablo

Mar 16, 2015
Visit site
Hey, and welcome!