Lumia 930 overheating!

Mihai Surugiu

Jun 18, 2015
Visit site
Hi there. I've had my Lumia 930 from November. Had problem with it heating fast. I think I've got a fix to this issue. While trying to install Windows 10 developer preview I had to reflash the phone. Now after doing it, it still gets worm but a lot less, and I mean by a lot less. Probably it was the firmware it can with. Also some time I think it was Facebook. Hope this helps you.

DCTF

May 16, 2013
Visit site
Hello to everyone!

I just got 930 this Monday from an online store (Greece).

**intro which you can skip starts**
I got a Lumia 640 for 100 Euros after renewing my contract with Cosmote, probably the top carrier here and I was extremely impressed with the Windows Phone experience and overall snappines. Offcourse my initial choice was the 930 (I am a semi-pro photographer & videographer), but I would lose the contract bonus, so I went for that. My wife had a 6 year-old Samsung "dumb" phone and fell in love with the 640, so I just gave it to her and decided to buy the 930 for 296 Euros from a local online store. A bargain if you ask me.
**intro which you can skip ends**

Now, the phone came in excellent order and packaging and I let it update all the apps I had installed on the 640 (it detected it from my account).
Ofcourse after a few minutes it started becoming warm.
Then really warm.
Then a bit hot-never "unbearable" but HOT.
Also I noticed the battery dropping fast to 0. Faster than an Android half-baked ROM that is.

After my initial frustration and dissapointment, I read this thread and took the following actions (which are mentioned in other forums/blogs too):

• Reverted the phone to factory settings.
  • Reinstalled all the official apps only.
  • Enabled battery saving mode.
  • Disabled gps, nfc and other services from automatically running.
  • Set screen to auto brightness.
  • and (very important) DISABLED all the background tasks that were running