How do I clean restore my laptop without losing all my Onedrive sync'd files?

mattdodwell

New member
Dec 30, 2015
93
0
0
Visit site
Hi All,

Sorry, real dumb question but I'm a tech luddite.

Onedrive is my primary cloud system and i run it on both a Surface Pro 4 and a Macbook as desktop folders sync'd with the online version. I have the desktop Onedrive app installed on both machines. I now need to wipe my macbook and take it back to factory settings.

If I just reset the macbook and it wipes the system back to the fresh from factory smell, will it wipe Onedrive but leave the files in the cloud? Or would it also wipe all my files too, i.e. delete everything ever stored?

If it will wipe the files, how can I stop this from happening?

Would I (and how do I) need to stop the sync function so that anything I now change on the Macbook won't sync with the Cloud Version and everything would be safe on the Surface Pro 4 and Cloud version on Onedrive?

Cheers for you advise.

Matt
 

mattdodwell

New member
Dec 30, 2015
93
0
0
Visit site
Oh, OK, good, cheers :)

My logic though that when I delete a file on my hard drive (in the onedrive folder) in deletes it on all devices when syncing.

Matt
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
324,170
Messages
2,245,090
Members
428,173
Latest member
Christinaenth