Microsoft Band and Piano Playing - Extra Steps Registered

Jaylen Smith

Nov 4, 2014
Visit site
I've notice my band registers an extra couple thousand steps whenever I practice the acoustic piano. I practice around 45 minutes a day give or take. I'm an intermediate piano player so I'm not exactly moving my fingers like Rachmaninoff. This really skews the measurements. Has anyone else noticed this?

kenjancef

Dec 2, 2014
Visit site
I hope this doesn't sound like a silly question... but if your step count gets thrown off that much, why not take it off during your practice time? Do you need it on while you play?

If I know I'll be relatively still while moving my arms a lot, I take the band off. I am a computer tech for a school department, and last week we had to unbox 200 computers. I noticed that my step count was going up due to my arms moving, but not my body, so I took my band off. Solved that problem...

lizziej

Jun 16, 2014
Visit site
I imagine it's be more comfortable taken off too?

Maybe put it on sleep mode? (Does it register sleeps in sleep mode? Idk )

eyecrispy

Nov 3, 2014
Visit site
Interesting. I always found that the Band was too good at not counting "fake" steps. I always seemed low to me. I don' t play piano so don't have first hand experience but that's a lot of extra steps. Are you playing some very active songs?

Nate Silver

Dec 14, 2014
Visit site
A bit too heavy on the pedal, perhaps?? :winktongue: But yeah, my experience is that the Band seems quite conservative regarding step count. Just driving to work would get me hundreds of steps on my Surge, plus a floor or two.

DroidUser42

Nov 7, 2014
Visit site
Does it register sleeps in sleep mode?

Yes, it does. I "wake up" in the morning with a few dozen steps - probably my bathroom trip.

I've seen the step count increase washing my hands. But since I'm not a clean freak, I don't worry about it. :wink:

I wonder if I can get step credit for playing Rocksmith? :winktongue:

ven07

Jan 27, 2014