Major Microsoft Surface Pro 2 Flaw with Pen Tracking

zain_faiz

Oct 26, 2013
Visit site
Pen not Tracking on Corners correctly, top left and Top right. Confirmed at Best Buy Locations also.

Important Update 10/28/2013:

I just got a call back from Microsoft. They confirmed there is a problem with the pen tracking system and it has been brought to the attention of the Surface Pro engineering team. They have no idea when this issue is going to fixed.

I hope this is not a hardware issue.

Last edited:

zain_faiz

Oct 26, 2013
Visit site
Yes, I did many times. I also just called Microsoft, they were able to reproduce the problem. The guy was pretty upset about it. He said they will try to figure out what is causing this on their devices too. I work as a professional artist so this is a big issue when working with digital painting programs.

zain_faiz

Oct 26, 2013
Visit site
try this. rest your palm on the screen like you would to write. Now try to get to the file menu with the palm still on screen. The cursor will fly off screen. use notepad fullscreen

zain_faiz

Oct 26, 2013
Visit site
I just came back from best buy. They tested it with 2 new pens and the problem was still there for me. They tried out the pens on the display models and the problem is still showing on them too. The odd thing is from what I can see the jumping off the pen tracking is based on the angle of the pen and only on the 2 top corners. When I have the pen on an angle I write with the tracking fly's off screen even more.

Eugene T1

Aug 14, 2013
Visit site