Having serious image quality rendering issues on WP8.1 IE11. Help me out!

AccentAE86

Nov 2, 2012
Visit site
Hey all!

I've been in the process of building a couple really tiny mobile websites as companions to my full websites. I am a professional photographer and my web stats are showing that about half of my visits are now from mobile phones, so I gotta make a small, quick site optimized for them.

It's been going decently well, but since I've upgraded my phones to 8.1 Dev Preview, the image rescaling quality is showing some vastly inconsistent results across devices. Before 8.1 DP, if I can recall correctly, everything rendered beautifully. But now, some WP8.1 devices are doing a **** poor job of it. Seeing as how I'm a photographer, I need the images to look proper!

I've been testing on a variety of phones I own, including a Lumia 1020, 625, 810, 1520, and also a Galaxy S3 and iPhone 4s. The exact same website looks great on the iPhone, S3, and 1520, but looks quite awful on the 1020 and 625, and looks ok on the 810. The 1520 is my only phone not upgraded to 8.1 DP. (I will also later test on my 920, 620, and 520 if I get a chance)

Here is a crop from the same area for each phone:
iPhone:
closeiPhone.jpg

Galaxy S3:
closeS3.jpg

Lumia 1520:
close1520.jpg

Lumia 810:
close810.jpg

Lumia 1020:
close1020.jpg

Lumia 625:
close625.jpg

Look at how horrible the 1020 and 625 look. It's really bothering me and makes me wonder how many visitors are going to see a similarly crappy rendering.

Here are the full unedited screenshots from each phone:
iPhone:
iPhoneA.PNG

iPhoneB.PNG

S3:
S3A.png

S3B.png

1520:
1520A.jpg

1520B.jpg

810:
810A.jpg

810B.jpg

1020:
1020A.jpg

1020B.jpg

625:
625A.jpg

625B.jpg